Bosun Tijiani Named Nigeria’s New Minister of Communications, Innovation and Digital Economy

President Bola Tinubu has assigned portfolios to ministers who were recently cleared by the Senate and Dr. Bosun Tijani will lead the Ministry of Communications, Innovation and Digital Economy.

Tijani, CEO, and co-founder of Co-Creation Hub (CcHub), comes to office with a formidable exposure in global tech ecosystem fulfilling the President’s desire to let the sector have “its own man” and have someone as minister that meets “the criteria for youthfulness in terms of age and global exposure in terms of ‘connectedness’ to the Big Tech economy.

The new minister is leading a renamed ministry. It was Ministry of Ministry of Communications & Digital Economy but now Ministry of Communications, Innovation and Digital  Economy to underscore government’s new focus on innovation.

Born July 20, 1977 in Agege, Lagos where he spent his formative years before moving to Abeokuta, Ogun State for his secondary education, Tijani moved to Jos in 1996 to study at the University of Jos where he first studied for a diploma in Computer Science before proceeding to study Economics and graduating with a Bachelor’s degree in 2002 from the same university.

In 2007, he obtained an MSc. in Information Systems and Management from the Warwick Business School in England and completed a PhD programme in Innovation and Economic Development at the University of Leicester this year.

Tijani, a Nigerian-British entrepreneur is a respected pioneer and industry leader in the African technology ecosystem. He led CcHub in 2019 to acquire Kenya’s iHub and launched the CcHub Design Lab in Kigali, Rwanda in the same year. In 2023, .CcHub consolidated its pan-African footprint with the launch of CcHub Namibia in Windhoek.

He initiated the first visit of Meta’s Mark Zuckerberg to Nigeria in August 2016 to strengthen Africa’s tech presence and hosted former Twitter CEO Jack Dorsey in 2019 in Lagos. This June, 2023, he hosted a fireside chat with Microsoft founder and co-Chair of the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, Bill Gates.

Other new Ministers and their portfolios

President Tinubu is expected to administer the oath of office to the newly appointed ministers on Monday, August 21.

  • Minister of Innovation Science and Technology, Uche Nnaji
  • Minister of State, Environment and Ecological Management: Ishak Salako
  • Minister of Finance and Coordinating Minister Of The Economy: Wale Edun
  • Minister of Marine and Blue Economy: Bunmi Tunji-Ojo
  • Minister of Power: Adebayo Adelabu
  • Minister of State, Health and Social Welfare: Tunji Alausa
  • Minister of Solid Minerals Development: Dele Alake
  • Minister of Tourism: Lola Ade-John
  • Minister of Transportation: Adegboyega Oyetola
  • Minister of Industry, Trade and Investment, Doris Anite
  • Minister of State, Labour and Employment, Nkiruka Onyejeocha
  • Minister of Women Affairs, Uju Kennedy
  • Minister of Works, David Umahi
  • Minister of Aviation and Aerospace Development, Festus Keyamo
  • Minister of Youth, Abubakar Momoh
  • Minister of Humanitarian Affairs and Poverty Alleviation, Betta Edu
  • Minister of State, Gas Resources, Ekperikpe Ekpo
  • Minister of State, Petroleum Resources, Heineken Lokpobiri
  • Minister of Sports Development, John Enoh
  • Minister of Federal Capital Territory, Nyesom Wike
  • Minister of State, Housing and Urban Development – Abdullahi Gwarzo
  • Minister of Budget and Economic Planning- Atiku Bagudu
  • Minister of State, FCT- Mariga Mahmoud
  • Minister of State, Water Resources and Sanitation- Bello Goronyo
  • Minister of Agriculture- Abubakar Kyari
  • Minister of Education- Tahir Mamman
  • Minister of Police Affairs- Ibrahim Geidam
  • Minister of Foreign Affairs – Yusuf Tuggar
  • Minister of Interior- Saidu Alkali
  • Coordinating Minister of Health and Social Welfare- Ali Pate
  • Minister of State, Steel and Development- Maigari Ahmadu
  • Minister of Steel and Development- Shuaibu Audu
  • Minister of Information and National Orientation- Muhammed Idris
  • Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice- Lateef Fagbemi
  • Minister of Labour and Employment- Simon Lalong
  • Minister of State, Police Affairs, Inman Suleiman
  • Minister of Special Duties- Zephaniah Jisalo
  • Minister of Water Resources and Sanitation- Joseph Utsev
  • Minister of State, Agriculture and Food Security- Aliyu Abdullahi
  • Minister of Arts, Culture and Creative Economy- Hannatu Musawa
  • Minister of Defence- Muhammed Badaru
  • Minister of State for Defence- Bello Matawalle
  • Minister of State, Education- Tanko Sunun
  • Minister of Housing and Urban Development- Ahmed Dangiwa
Don Pedro Aganbi

Don Pedro Aganbi is a Nigerian Journalist, broadcaster, Filmmaker, brand and Public Relations Specialist and 1st prize winner, TV category, United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA) & Africa Information Society Initiatives (AISI) Awards. He is also a recipient of the Global IT Champion Awards, courtesy of World Information Technology and Services Alliance (WITSA).

He is the Founder/Managing Partner, TechTV Network and convener of the hugely popular Titans of Tech Awards, Pan African Digital Initiative Summit & Expo and the TechTV Digital Agenda Forum.

Don Pedro Aganbi is the producer and host of the popular international award winning TV show, TechTV.

You May Also Like

More From Author

+ There are no comments

Add yours